Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Carlson's Landing. We'd love to have your feedback!

Essex, CT

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Carlson's Landing and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Leclairmt 4 days ago

Seafood Hash

We went to brunch today and had the seafood hash and French toast. Both were excellent. Plenty of lobster and shrimp in the hash and the bourbon brown sugar maple syrup on the French toast was wonderful. The waitresses were helpful and service was attentive. Thank you for a wonderful meal

Michellewiningersells 6 days ago

Salmon

Absolutely delicious. Cooked to perfection, played beautifully, service exceptional and the view was Divine. Making reservations for next week already!

Sarahjfudge 10 days ago

Fettuccine

Fantastic! Highly recommend, amazing food and amazing scenery!

Divyadifazio 14 days ago

Oysters

We held a family gathering to celebrate the marriage of family members from Canada. The staff were wonderfully supportive to our party. We had a private room and attentive service. Drinks, oysters, fresh fish, all delicious. We had a gluten free guest and two vegetarians who raved about their dishes. A champagne toast and chocolate wedding cake topped off a celebratory evening.

Micheapr13 18 days ago

Burger

Went for lunch with co-workers & I can't wait to return for dinner. The burger, the service, and the atmosphere was the most recherche restaurant experience ever!

Joanpoulton about 1 month ago

Quinoa & Crab Salad

I love the Halibut dish in Carlsons Landing however I have found it to be a little more cooked than I like. The beet purée that accompanies the halibut is mouthwatering. As I've eaten the halibut the last couple of times I've eaten there I decided to go with the Quinoa & crab salad. There was very little crab on my salad when it was served to me. I told our lovely server Sally that I was disappointed with the small portion of crab meat and she immediately removed it and said she was going to ask the chef to add more. She was so well mannered and showed a lot of empathy. She returned to the table with the Manager, Patrick who apologized and told me the crab was finished and that's why a got such a small portion. He asked if I'd like to substitute the dish for anything else on the menu so I settled on shrimp. My plate was once again swiftly removed to the kitchen and returned to me within 5 minutes. Patrick and Sally were incredible. Having been a trainer for 33 years I can tell you that educating someone to successfully deal with a customer complaint is one of the most difficult things to do as it involves showing empathy. Patrick and Sally have empathy in spades. Hence I will keep returning to dine at Carlsons Landing . A huge thank you for the beautiful restaurant, setting, food and most importantly, staff.

Brenna about 1 month ago

Fries

We stopped in for a quick bite, and ended up staying longer and ordering a few things to try. The fries were everywhere in front of other patrons and Bloody Marys too. We opted for soe other bar specials that were delish but the fries had just the right amount of crunch, flavor and a touch of salt. ADDICTIVE! Couldn't beat the view either. Cant wait to go back for a real dinner.

Laurawebber128 about 2 months ago

Cheesecake

pomegranate was the cheesecake flavor and it was AMAZING! It doesn't look like a typical cheesecake either but WOAH it tasted heavenly.

Torissecrete 2 months ago

Tenderloin

So good! My only criticism is that this should be an entree and not a starter portion. It was so good and not nearly a large enough portion to cure my craving for this delicious dish! I highly recommend and truly hope they add it to the dinner menu before fall... TRY IT!

Robert 2 months ago

Burger

The best pork belly I ever had. Plus my chicken dish was amazing as was the service. Thank you for a great evening

Rae 4 days ago

Tenderloin

I've tried a few menu items from here and everyone was delicious. The tenderloin however was absolutely spectacular! It literally cut like butter and was seasoned perfectly. The potatoes with it l made a perfect pair. My tastebuds crave this meal now over any other tenderloin I've tried. Highly recommend trying it. Along with any of their dishes. I'm sure all all wonderful. The halibut was excellent as well and the tuna tarte and shrimp etc. plus their drinks are delicious! Mixed perfectly. They don't skimp on fine alcohol either. Going to try their brunch next!

Mazret62 10 days ago

Halibut

We were COV-ID crazy and took a drive to Essex on a beautiful pre-fall day. We saw Carlson's at the harbor with an OPEN sign. We stopped for lunch. A starter of crostini with olives, shredded prosciutto and parmesan was the perfect starter. The halibut with pine nuts atop beet vichysoisse and greens was not only a visual delight, but also was incredibly delicious. We will definitely return for their upcoming fall menu. A real find!!

Julia 11 days ago

Baked Oyster (6)

Everything was great, but the baked oysters were out of this world. I could eat plates and plates of them! We had a wonderful time. It was relaxed, the service was perfect. Very pleasant atmosphere. Thank you!

Simie 17 days ago

Lobster Slider

Love the sliders, great portion size and fries were delicious! Felt very comfortable eating there during COVID. Staff did a great job...Thanks Carlson's Landing for a great meal!

Kolakowski 24 days ago

Rosemary Focaccia

I had a lovely time celebrating my birthday at Carlsons Landing. The location is phenomenal, right on the CT river where it feeds into LI sound and adjacent to the quaint little village of Essex filled with boutiques and nautical themed shops. The outdoor seating is extraordinary with a birdseye view of the river. We chose to eat inside and were equally impressed. The decor is chic and contemporary, the booth seating is a clean, white leather material and tables are a light wood, almost scandinavian style. The effect is bright and stylish. But the meal was the best part! We ordered from the brunch menu. I had Rosemary Foccacio. It was delicious...the bread was crisp with just the right amount of herbs. On top was layered a fried egg, succulent pork belly, sweet carmelized onions and a generous topping of gruyere cheese. The combination was heavenly. It takes an egg sandwich to a whole different level. The accompanyng home fries were also tasty and crisp. For a beverage, I ordered a bloody mary cocktail; it was spectacular in both presentation and taste! I will definitely return...

Joanpoulton about 1 month ago

Halibut

So delicious. The beet purée was inventive and incredible.

Kngleason38 about 1 month ago

Roasted ½ Chicken

The 1-2 Chicken was phenomenal! Im not a fan of seafood which is a majority of the menu, but its nice they offer a chicken dish! Beyond juicy, seasoned and glazed perfect the mashed potatoes and asparagus that come with it compliment it very well! Hands down best around town for chicken like that! Kudos to the chef, simple and delicious

Bette about 2 months ago

Soup of the Day

The Manhattan Chowder is to die for! Bravo to the chef! It's so satisfying, rich, full of flavor, loaded with clams, and a hint of bacon. This chowder is the best I've had since my childhood when my grandmother owned a chowder house on Long Island.

Colleen 2 months ago

Fried Calamari

This dish was excellent. Just the right blend of hot, spicy peppers and a cool green sauce over lightly fried calamari. A unique presentation perfectly prepared!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA